Go to Homepage   Malice Snapshot: Awards and Photos


teapot iconThe premier fan convention for the traditional mystery, Malice Domestic XII was held at the Washington, D.C., Renaissance Hotel, May 5-7. Click here for a fan's eye view.  In addition, convention attendees and organizers awarded the following honors:

Agatha Awards

Best Non-fiction: Daniel Stashower, Teller of Tales: The Life of Arthur Conan Doyle 

Best Short Story: Nancy Pickard, "Out of Africa" (from Mom, Apple Pie, and Murder

Best First Mystery: Donna Andrews, Murder with Peacocks 

Best Novel: Earlene Fowler, Mariner's Compass

Malice Domestic Lifetime Achievement Award: Dick Francis

American Crime Writers League Ellen Nehr Award: Patty Ruocco 

St. Martin's Press Malice Domestic First Novel Contest: Margo Wadley, The Gripping Beast  

Malice Domestic Grants: Carolyn Kourofsky, Through a Killer's Eye;
Susan Wrona Gall, Incident at the Gallery 

Malice Domestic Pro/Am Competition: Amateur Division Diane Finney (for a three-page treatment of a mystery called Murder at Sea)
(There were no entries in the Professional Division.) 

Jacqueline Boroch Memorial Hat Contest: Most Creative Hat: Nancy E. Harris
Most Beautiful Hat: Jean Marie Ward 

Click here for more information on Malice Domestic.